UDA party clears former Starehe MP Bishop Margaret Wanjiru to run for Nairobi county governor.

The United Democratic Alliance (UDA) on Friday January 8, 2020 cleared Bishop Margaret Wanjiru to vie for Nairobi governor.

The former Starehe MP was issued with the nomination certificate by party officials led by Johnson Muthama,the former Machakos senator.

The party was unveiled by Muthama and has since been linked to Deputy President William Ruto.

On Thursday, the Registrar of Political Parties Ann Nderitu though a gazette notice confirmed the successful name change and registration of UDA, which was formerly known as Party of Development and Reform (PDR).

“The registrar of political parties takes note of the decision taken by your party and the changes effected on January 7, 2021 upon the expiry of the statutory period in line with Section 20(3A) of the PPA,” Read the notice.

ALSO READ:  Man kills his 82 year - old mother over land dispute.

The party also cleared former Machakos county deputy governor Benard to run for the Machakos county senator in the forthcoming by-election.

Kiala served as Governor Alfred Mutua’s deputy in his first term.

In Kabuchai constituency, the party cleared Evans Kaikai Masinde to fly the party flag mini-poll and Kelele Nelson for the UDA candidate for Huruma Ward by-election.

The Nairobi by – election was scheduled for February 18.

However, it was on Monday suspended until impeached Governor, Mike Sonko’s case challenging his ouster is heard and determined.

ALSO READ:  Miguna Miguna confirms his candidature for Nairobi governor on 'TAK'

The withdrawal of a petition blocking the vetting of Anne Kananu as Nairobi deputy governor might also bar the mini-poll from happening.

Kananu is set to be vetted by the county assembly on Friday, next week.

Should the MCAs deem her fit to take over from Sonko, she will likely take over the reins of power from speaker Benson Mutura.

Leaders present during the announcements were; Elgeyo Marakwet Senator Kipchumba Murkomen, Susan Kihika of Nakuru, Kikuyu MP Kimani Ichung’wa among others.

Share this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.